Speaker:in

Dr. Franca Parianen

Neuroscientist, Author, Speaker: Science Communicator

Dr. Franca Parianen, born in 1989, is a neuroscientist and science communicator. She explores the intersection between science and humanities, people and society, or as she says: the ideal field for people with decision-making difficulties. With wit, humor, and sources, she explores the difficulties that arise when two brains collide. As well as the question of what that means for 8 billion people. In doing so, she dives deep into the world of messengers and neurons, while at the same time transferring the findings to the problems of our modern world.

She is well equipped for this interdisciplinary approach, with a bachelor’s degree in public administration (politics, economics, sociology and law), a research master’s degree in cognitive and neuroscience, and a doctorate to match. She visits fair trade companies in Mauritius, worked as a coordinator at the Eine Welt Netz (“One World Network”) in North Rhine-Westphalia, and studied social cognition at the Max Planck Institute. Conclusion: Pure reason is also overestimated. The second half of her doctoral thesis took Parianen to the Helmholtz Institute in Utrecht, where everything revolved around social life at the level of the brain and hormones. What role do attachment, stress, and early childhood experience play? What myths stand in the way of women? And what else are hormones supposed to be an excuse for? “Hormones are political, too,” Parianen says, “Because they can not only confirm prejudices, but do an excellent job of dispelling them.” She communicates her research findings not only in specialist publications, but also on stage. In the science slam format, she brings science to theaters, clubs or pubs, winning numerous national championships. As a speaker, she gives talks at international congresses.

Research and narrative style together flow into Parianen’s books. Starting with „Woher soll ich wissen, was ich denke, bevor ich höre, was ich sage“ (2017) (“How should I know what I think before I hear what I say”), which is partly created in Southeast Asia and Cuba, published by Rowohlt and on the bestseller list for weeks. Since then, Franca Parianen can also be found more frequently as a contributor in print, radio and television. In her current book, “Teilen und Haben”(“Sharing and Having”) (2021), she spans an arc from the origins of humanity, through childlike social behavior, to the global distribution of resources. In the wording of the Neue Westphälische: “Franca Parianen hits the nerve of the time with her book”.

Speaker:in

Dr. Franca Parianen

Neurowissenschaftlerin, Autorin, Speakerin: Science Communicator

Dr. Franca Parianen, geboren 1989, ist Neurowissenschaftlerin und Wissenschaftskommunikatorin. Sie erforscht die Schnittstelle zwischen Natur- und Geisteswissenschaft, Mensch und Gesellschaft, oder wie sie sagt: Das ideale Fachgebiet für Leute mit Entscheidungsschwierigkeiten. Mit Hirn, Humor und Quellenangaben untersucht sie die Schwierigkeiten, die entstehen, wenn zwei Gehirne aufeinandertreffen. Genauso wie die Frage, was das erst für 8 Milliarden bedeutet. Dabei taucht sie tief ein in die Welt der Botenstoffe und Neuronen und überträgt die Erkenntnisse gleichzeitig auf die Probleme unserer modernen Welt.

Für diesen interdisziplinären Ansatz ist sie bestens ausgestattet, mit einem Bachelor in Public Administration (Politik, Ökonomie, Soziologie und Jura), einem Research Master in Kognitions- und Neurowissenschaft und der dazu passenden Promotion. Sie besucht Fairtrade-Unternehmen auf Mauritius, arbeitete als Koordinatorin beim Eine Welt Netz NRW und untersuchte am Max-Planck-Institut soziale Kognition. Fazit: Reine Vernunft wird auch überschätzt. Die zweite Hälfte ihrer Doktorarbeit, verschlängt Parianen ans Helmholtz Institut Utrecht, wo sich alles um das Sozialleben auf Ebene von Hirn und Hormonen dreht. Welche Rolle spielen Bindung, Stress, und frühkindliche Erfahrung? Welche Mythen stehen Frauen im Weg? Und wofür sollen Hormone eigentlich noch als Entschuldigung herhalten?  “Auch Hormone sind politisch”, sagt Parianen, “Denn sie können Vorurteile nicht nur bestätigen, sondern ausgezeichnet damit aufräumen.“ Ihre Forschungsergebnisse vermittelt sie nicht nur in Fachpublikationen, sondern auch auf der Bühne. Im Science Slam Format bringt sie Wissenschaft in Theater, Clubs oder Kneipen und gewinnt damit zahlreiche überregionale Meisterschaften. Als Speakerin hält sie Vorträge auf internationalen Kongressen.

Forschung und Erzählstil zusammen fließen in Parianens Bücher. Angefangen mit „Woher soll ich wissen, was ich denke, bevor ich höre, was ich sage“ (2017), das zum Teil in Südostasien und Kuba entsteht, von Rowohlt veröffentlicht wird und wochenlang auf der Bestsellerliste steht. Seitdem ist Franca Parianen auch häufiger als Beiträgerin in Print, Radio und Fernsehen anzutreffen. In ihrem aktuellen Buch „Teilen und Haben“ (2021) spannt sie einen Bogen von den Ursprüngen der Menschheit, über kindliches Sozialverhalten bis zur globalen Ressourcenverteilung. Im Wortlaut der Neuen Westphälischen: „Franca Parianen trifft mit ihrem Buch den Nerv der Zeit“.