Dr. Sophie von Preysing

Table Captain

Dr. Sophie von Preysing

State and Regional Managing Director
Malteser Hilfsdienst e.V. State/Regional Office NRW (North Rhine-Westphalia)

Dr. Sophie von Preysing began her professional career after studying law at the University of Freiburg in Switzerland, graduating with honors in European Law. Her initial professional steps led her into academia. At the Europe Institute at the University of Zurich (EIZ), she advised government authorities, businesses, and civil society on the bilateral relations between Switzerland and Europe. She participated in various publications and held a teaching assignment at the University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland. In 2007, she earned her Doctor of Law (Dr. iur.) from the University of Zurich in Swiss and European Antitrust Law.

In 2006, she worked for the Swiss Competition Commission (Weko) in Bern in the areas of product markets and public procurement. Due to her voluntary work with the homeless in Zurich, she decided to refocus her career. In 2007, she joined the Malteser Hilfsdienst, becoming the executive president’s assistant. Many former colleagues warned her of a potential “career break” and predicted a swift return. However, the Maltesers offered her so many opportunities that there has been no “turning back” to this day. From 2010 to 2013, she continued her career as the diocesan managing director in the Archdiocese of Freiburg, where she first took on significant personnel and financial responsibilities.

After nearly four and a half years of parental leave, Dr. von Preysing took on a part-time role in August 2018 as the head of corporate development and project management for digitalization at the Malteser headquarters. In this role, she also worked on the structural reform to revise the statutes and guidelines of the Malteser Hilfsdienst. Since September 1, 2019, she has been the state and regional managing director in North Rhine-Westphalia, overseeing nearly 5,000 full-time and 13,000 volunteer employees.

From 2009 to 2019, Dr. von Preysing volunteered for fundraising at the Malteser maternity clinic in Bethlehem. During her parental leave in 2014, with an infant in her arms, she established a medical practice for people without health insurance in Mannheim and led it until the birth of her second child. Since 2023, she has been a member of the University Council of the Technical University of Cologne, advocating for the model of social innovation. In 2024, she was recognized by Vicky Wagner of BeyondGenderAgenda as one of the 101 Women of the Year for her commitment to promoting women.

Dr. Sophie von Preysing was born in 1975, is a native Swiss, married, and the mother of two children. She lives with her family near Cologne.

Dr. Sophie von Preysing

Table Captain

Dr. Sophie von Preysing

Landes- und Regionalgeschäftsführerin
Malteser Hilfsdienst e.V. Landes-/Regionalgeschäftsstelle NRW

Dr. Sophie von Preysing begann ihre berufliche Laufbahn nach dem Studium der Rechtswissenschaften an der Universität Freiburg i. Üe. (Schweiz), das sie mit einem Prädikat in Europarecht abschloss. Ihre ersten beruflichen Schritte führten sie in die Wissenschaft. Am Europa Institut an der Universität Zürich (EIZ) beriet sie Regierungsbehörden, Unternehmen und die Zivilgesellschaft zu den bilateralen Beziehungen zwischen der Schweiz und Europa. Sie beteiligte sich an verschiedenen Veröffentlichungen und einem Lehrauftrag des EIZ an der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz. 2007 promovierte sie an der Universität Zürich zum Dr. iur. im Schweizerischen und Europäischen Kartellrecht.

2006 war sie für die schweizerische Wettbewerbskommission (Weko) in Bern im Bereich Produktmärkte und öffentliches Beschaffungswesen tätig. Aufgrund ihres ehrenamtlichen Engagements für Obdachlose in Zürich entschied sie sich, ihre berufliche Laufbahn neu auszurichten. 2007 wechselte sie zum Malteser Hilfsdienst und wurde Vorstandsassistentin des Geschäftsführenden Präsidenten. Etliche ehemalige Kollegen warnten sie vor einem „Karrierebruch“ und prophezeiten eine baldige Rückkehr. Die Malteser boten ihr jedoch so viele Chancen, dass es bis heute kein „Zurück“ gab. Ihre Laufbahn setzte sie von 2010 bis 2013 als Diözesangeschäftsführerin in der Erzdiözese Freiburg fort, wo sie erstmals größere Personal- und Ergebnisverantwortung übernahm.

Nach einer knapp viereinhalbjährigen Elternzeit übernahm Dr. von Preysing im August 2018 zunächst in Teilzeit die Leitung der Unternehmensentwicklung und Projektleitung Digitalisierung in der Malteser Zentrale. In dieser Rolle arbeitete sie auch an der Strukturreform zur Überarbeitung von Satzung und Leitfaden des Malteser Hilfsdienstes mit. Seit dem 1. September 2019 ist sie in Vollzeit Landes- und Regionalgeschäftsführerin in Nordrhein-Westfalen und leitet dort knapp 5.000 hauptamtliche und 13.000 ehrenamtliche Mitarbeitende.

Dr. von Preysing war von 2009 bis 2019 ehrenamtlich für das Fundraising der Malteser Geburtsklinik in Bethlehem zuständig. In ihrer Elternzeit baute sie 2014, mit Säugling am Arm, eine Arztpraxis für Menschen ohne Krankenversicherung in Mannheim auf und leitete diese bis zur Geburt ihres zweiten Kindes. Seit 2023 ist sie Mitglied im Hochschulrat der Technischen Hochschule Köln und setzt sich dort für das Leitbild der sozialen Innovation ein. 2024 wurde sie von Vicky Wagner von BeyondGenderAgenda als eine von 101 Women of The Year für ihr Engagement im Bereich der Frauenförderung ausgezeichnet.

Dr. Sophie von Preysing ist Jahrgang 1975, gebürtige Schweizerin, verheiratet und Mutter von zwei Kindern. Sie lebt mit ihrer Familie in der Nähe von Köln.