Speaker:in, Table Captain

Katja Suding

Author and consultant, former member of the German Bundestag and deputy leader of the FDP parliamentary group

Katja Suding, born in 1975 in Vechta, Germany, worked for many years as a freelance communications consultant after studying communications and political science before entering politics from one day to the next as a career changer in 2011. How did it come about?

At the end of 2010, the government alliance in Hamburg collapsed and she applied to be the FDP’s top candidate for the early elections. Not only does she get this post, but she also makes a significant contribution to her party’s electoral success in the Hamburg parliamentary elections in February 2011, and pulls her party out of a polling slump. Thanks to its new top candidate, the FDP finally returns to Hamburg’s parliament after seven long years of extra-parliamentary opposition. This marks the start of her political career.

Katja Suding was a member of Hamburg’s parliament and chairwoman of the FDP parliamentary group from 2011 to 2017, as well as state chairwoman of the FDP Hamburg from 2014 to 2021. She was also deputy federal chairwoman of her party from 2015 to 2021. What particularly drives her politically in these years is educational justice. She is fighting to make the educational success of children more independent of parental home and background.

Then, in 2017, the next career highlight: Katja Suding moves into the German Bundestag, where she is deputy leader of the FDP parliamentary group. She seems to have reached her goal.

But then comes the shock: In 2021, Katja Suding unexpectedly ends her successful political career, without her reputation having been damaged by scandals beforehand. Just as she found her way into politics, she also arranged her exit: in a self-determined way.

Katja Suding will publish her first book with Herder in March 2021. The author, mother of two grown-up children, lives in Hamburg.

Speaker:in, Table Captain

Katja Suding

Autorin und Beraterin, ehemals Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages und stellvertretende Fraktionsvorsitzende der FDP

Katja Suding, geboren 1975 in Vechta, arbeitete nach einem Studium der Kommunikations- und Politikwissenschaft lange Jahre als selbständige Kommunikationsberaterin, bevor sie 2011 von einem Tag auf den anderen als Quereinsteigerin in die Politik ging. Wie es dazu kam?

Ende 2010 zerplatzt das Regierungsbündnis in Hamburg und sie bewirbt sich als Spitzenkandidatin der FDP für die vorgezogenen Neuwahlen. Nicht nur bekommt sie diesen Posten, sondern sie leistet einen maßgeblichen Anteil am Wahlerfolg ihrer Partei bei den Hamburger Bürgerschaftswahlen im Februar 2011, und holt ihre Partei aus dem Umfragetief. Dank der neuen Spitzenkandidatin zieht die FDP nach sieben langen Jahren außerparlamentarischer Opposition endlich wieder in die Hamburger Bürgerschaft ein. Das ist der Startschuss ihrer politischen Karriere.

Katja Suding war von 2011 bis 2017 Mitglied der Hamburgischen Bürgerschaft und Vorsitzende der FDP-Fraktion, sowie von 2014 bis 2021 Landesvorsitzende der FDP Hamburg. Außerdem von 2015 bis 2021 auch stellvertretende Bundesvorsitzende ihrer Partei. Was sie politisch in diesen Jahren besonders antreibt, ist Bildungsgerechtigkeit. Sie kämpft dafür, den Bildungserfolg von Kindern unabhängiger von Elternhaus und Herkunft zu machen.

2017 dann der nächste Karriere-Höhepunkt: Katja Suding zieht in den Deutschen Bundestag ein und ist dort stellvertretende Fraktionsvorsitzende der FDP. Scheinbar ist sie am Ziel angekommen.

Doch dann der Schock: 2021 beendet Katja Suding überraschend ihre erfolgreiche politische Laufbahn, ohne dass ihr Ansehen vorher von Skandalen beschädigt worden wäre. So, wie sie den Einstieg in die Politik fand, so gestaltet sie auch ihren Ausstieg: selbstbestimmt.

Katja Suding legt im März 2021 bei Herder ihr erstes Buch vor. Die Autorin, Mutter von zwei erwachsenen Kindern, lebt in Hamburg.