Speaker:in, Table Captain

Dr. med. Dilek Gürsoy

Heart surgeon and Physician of the year 2019
The first female doctor in Europe to transplant an artificial heart. Is currently co-creating a new artificial heart.

Dilek Gürsoy, MD, was born in 1976 in Neuss, Germany, one of three children in a family of Turkish immigrant workers. One of her two brothers died in infancy. Her father died of sudden cardiac death when she was ten years old. From then on, her mother raised her and her brother alone. After graduating from high school, she studied human medicine at Heinrich Heine University in Düsseldorf. She received her doctorate in 2008 with the thesis The role of the coagulation and complement systems in the development of a “systemic inflammatory response syndrome” (SIRS) after interventions using extracorporeal circulation (ECC).

After graduation, she was an assistant, specialist and senior physician at various places of work in the team of cardiac surgeon Reiner Körfer, where she is involved in an ongoing research on an artificial heart without external cable and drive system. Between the fall of 2016 and the summer of 2019, Gürsoy rotated between various hospitals, including serving as a division chief.

In 2019, she was involved in a campaign of the Ministry of Family and Integration NRW #IchDuWirNRW as a role model and positive example for the successful immigration society. In addition, she is involved in various associations, including as a mentor in the Women into Leadership initiative and as a campaign ambassador in the Deutschlandstiftung Integration.

In September 2020, Gürsoy’s book “Ich stehe hier, weil ich gut bin” (I’m standing here because I’m good) was published, in which she outlines her life’s journey and reports on everyday life in the clinic and operating room.

Dr. med. Dilek Gürsoy

Speaker, Table Captain

Dr. med. Dilek Gürsoy

Herzchirurgin und Medizinerin des Jahres 2019
Sie setzte als erste Frau in Europa einem Patienten ein komplettes Kunstherz ein.

Dr. med. Dilek Gürsoy wurde 1976 in Neuss als eines von drei Kindern einer türkischen Gastarbeiterfamilie geboren. Einer ihrer zwei Brüder verstarb im Kindesalter. Ihr Vater verstarb an plötzlichem Herztod, als sie zehn Jahre alt war. Ihre Mutter zog sie und ihren Bruder fortan allein groß. Nach dem Abitur studierte sie an der Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf Humanmedizin. Sie promovierte 2008 mit der Arbeit Die Bedeutung des Gerinnungs- und Komplementsystems bei der Ausbildung eines „systemic inflammatory response syndroms“ (SIRS) nach Eingriffen mit Hilfe extrakorporaler Zirkulation (EKZ).

Nach dem Studium war sie an verschiedenen Arbeitsorten Assistenz-, Fach- und Oberärztin im Team des Herzchirurgen Reiner Körfer, an dessen laufender Forschung an einem Kunstherz ohne externem Kabel und Antriebssystem sie beteiligt ist. Zwischen Herbst 2016 und Sommer 2019 wechselte Gürsoy zwischen verschiedenen Kliniken und war unter anderem als Bereichsleiterin tätig.

2019 war sie an einer Kampagne des Familien- und Integrationsministeriums NRW #IchDuWirNRW als Vorbild und positives Beispiel für die erfolgreiche Einwanderungsgesellschaft beteiligt. Daneben engagiert sie sich in diversen Vereinigungen, unter anderem als Mentorin bei der Initiative Women into Leadership und als Kampagnenbotschafterin in der Deutschlandstiftung Integration.

Im September 2020 erschien Gürsoys Buch Ich stehe hier, weil ich gut bin, in dem sie ihren Lebensweg skizziert und aus dem Alltag in Klinik und OP berichtet.